DUI 101- First Steps and Help
Getting a DUI is tough and as much as we know we shouldn’t drink and drive, it happens. We all make mistakes and need help from time to time, so our first tip after getting a DUI is check your mail!!! I know it is 2019, so who uses their mailbox anymore? Everything is online, why waste all that paper. There are even some people who don’t even know where their mailbox is, and who can blame them?
But this is one of the first things that you need to do after getting a DUI. You need to check your mail! Unless you have received a DUI before, or you know someone who has and they have discussed it with you, you will not know what the first step is. But, it is in your mailbox. The state will send you paperwork letting you know what you need to do. In this situation, checking your mail can save you many future headaches and lots of money.
Did you know that getting a DUI will cost you money? I mean, A LOT of money. Not just getting a speeding ticket kind of money, I mean almost buying a car kind of money. It’s not cheap, it’s not fun, and it is super confusing. The minimum costs of a misdemeanor DUI in Arizona include: Up to $2,500 in fines and court costs. Around $500 for classes and counseling. About $1,000 for an ignition interlock device. And really this is just the beginning. (ortegalawyers.com)
You will need to get an Interlock device put into your car. What does this mean? It means that for AT LEAST 6 months, you will need to blow into this device, called an Ignition Interlock, whenever you go to drive somewhere. It is basically the states way of making sure you are not drinking and driving, again. You cannot mess up with this device.
The device itself is not cheap, roughly $70 to $150 to install and around $60 to $80 per month for device monitoring and calibration. (arizonainterlock.com).
Along with this device you will need an SR-22 as well. You already need to have insurance on your vehicle, which will have an increased premium due to this “mistake”, and on top of your insurance you will need to have this SR-22 on your policy.
What is an SR-22? SR-22 insurance in Arizona is required by law if you have been convicted of a DUI/DWI. It is used to verify that at least the minimum insurance liability required by law is being maintained on the driver’s vehicle. These can get pretty pricey as well. (duiinsuranceexpert.com)
You may also be required to take Traffic Survival School. This is a one time 8 hour class that can be required to reinstate your license after a DUI. You must attend this class within 60 days of the “Date Action Begins” found on the MVD Corrective Action Letter you received when your license was suspended. This will also cost you money, anywhere from $99-$150.
Starting to notice a commonality here? Money, money, money. A DUI will cost you a lot of money and there are so many other steps, hidden and wide open, that go into the process of getting a DUI. If you miss one, it will cost more money, if you go out of order, it will cost more money, if you choose to ignore it, guess what? It WILL cost more money.
So, get help! Like I said, we all need it from time to time. And I’m going to let you in on a little secret, a little trick to the trade…. I know a great company that can help you out. And guess what? It’s FREE! I know, it’s to good to be true, but I promise you it is. DPX DUI Process Experts is a free service that is here to walk you through, step by step, across the whole winding path of getting a DUI. We know what needs to be done and when each step needs to be completed.
So, give us a call! We want to help you. Everyone makes mistakes, everyone deserves a second chance. And we want to make sure that you get your second chance. 602-441-9444 and visit our website, www.duiprocessexperts.com. We would love the opportunity to help you!